News & Events

Providing you with the information you need regarding upcoming events.

This section of the web site contains the weekly, quarterly and flash information on school events.


Click the headings below to go to the respective news publications.

14 September 2018

2018 Pierre de Coubertin Award Olivia Styles

Pierre de Coubertin was the founder of modern Olympics and was convinced of the importance of sport in the development of the individual.  He believed in the qualities of excellence, sportsmanship and respect which embody the values of Olympism.

The Pierre de Coubertin Awards, an initiative of the Australian Olympic Committee, are designed to reward not only the elite sports people but those who display strong character and ideals, representing the school at the highest standard both on and off the field.    Previous Western Australian winners of this award include Fergus Kavanagh (Olympian, Hockey), Kim Mickle (Olympian, Athletics), Harry Taylor (Geelong FC) and Daniel Wells (North Melbourne FC).

These annual awards are presented to one Year 10, 11 or 12 student from participating high schools.   In WA in 2018, The Australian Olympic Committee awarded 43 students from among the approximately 16,000 students attending those participating high schools.


The students were invited to an Olympic Academy Day held prior to the Presentation Ceremony, which provided students with a once in a lifetime opportunity to learn about leadership, goal setting and resilience from some of WA’s Olympic heroes.  Olympians Jesse Philips (Spring Kayak); Tamsin Cook (Swimming); Danielle Kettlewell (Synchronized Swimming) and Rhys Grant (Rowing) shared with the students their own Olympic journey.  


La Salle College congratulates Year 11 student, Olivia Styles for receiving the 2018 Pierre de Coubertin Award.




Click the headings below to go to the respective event publications.

Page last updated 31/10/2014